Trade development of Xiamen-Five Trading Ports

chinadaily.com.cn| Updated: May 14,2019


The trading port of Xiamen [Photo provided to chinadaily.com.cn]

In 1812, five of China's coastal cities were opened up as trading ports, namely Guangzhou, Xiamen, Fuzhou, Ningbo and Shanghai, and became known as the "five trading ports". On Sept 11 of the 23rd year of Daoguang of the Qing Dynasty (Nov 2, 1843), Xiamen was officially opened. 

Two years later, in the 25th year of Daoguang of the Qing Dynasty (1845), Jing Mu, then General of Fuzhou and Director of Fujian Customs, presented a memorial to the emperor Daoguang, which stated the case of Xiamen after the commercial port opening: "People transport not only foreign goods, but also foreign cloth and cotton, which are all piled up in Xiamen Port. Inland businessmen transport goods from Xiamen Port to various regions through the country. The goods in trade are of good quality and sold at cheap price. Most stores that sell foreign cloth and foreign cotton arc emptied by eager buyers." 

After being opened as a trading port, Xiamen started to have trade exchanges with Western countries besides East Asian and Southeast Asian countries.